Meet our Pastors, Staff and Leadership Board at New Song Community Church in Oceanside and Carlsbad

Meet the Leadership & Staff

Hal Seed

Lead Pastor
In 1992, God called Hal and his family to Oceanside, California to plant New Song Community Church. For the past 28+ years, Hal has served as the Lead Pastor, teaching, shepherding, and leading New Song’s staff and congregation. Hal’s educational background includes a Master’s of Divinity from Denver Seminary in Denver, Colorado and a Doctorate of Ministry from Fuller Theological Seminary in Pasadena, California.

Scott Bayer

Executive Pastor
Scott joined the New Song staff in 2021. Before his time in ministry, Scott joined New Song in 2008 and served in Mosaic while deploying three times as an Active Duty Marine. In 2013, he left California to pursue his Masters of Biblical Exegesis at Wheaton Graduate School. He returned to California in 2016 to pursue PhD Studies in the Old Testament. He is a Lt. Colonel in the Marine Corps Reserve.

Mark Kuhn

Campus Pastor - Carlsbad
Mark joined New Song in 1999 and is currently the Campus Pastor at Carlsbad. He also heads up Pastoral Care, and is a member of the New Song Leadership Board, of which he was the Board Chairman from 2004 to 2011. Mark was licensed as a pastor in 2005 and has a combined 45 years of government service as a Marine and civil servant. Mark and his wife Carol reside in Oceanside, California.

Susan Bogus

PromiseLand (Kids) Director
Susan joined New Song in 1998 and began volunteering in PromiseLand, our children’s ministry, that same year. She has served in rooms from birth through 5th grade. Susan joined our staff in 2001 as a room leader in preschool and later went on to elementary where she led our Scream Team and large group environment. In 2016, Susan became our PromiseLand Director.

Mike Mason

Associate Pastor of NextGen Ministries
Mike is a NextGen ministry "Lifer", committed to serving students and young adults with a sense of fun and urgency. He enjoys mentoring students and volunteer teams, and nothing brings him more happiness than to see a young person progress from unbeliever to a potential youth minister. Mike's educational background includes a Master's degree from Gateway Seminary and a PhD from Biola University. He lives in Oceanside with his rescue dog Luna.

Cyrus Greene

Facilities Director / Next-Door Pastor
Cyrus and his three children live in Oceanside. He’s been with the New Song family since 2003 and has taken on the role of Facilities Director as well as being our Next-Door Pastor of outreach since 2011.

Dr. Cynthia Standley

Director of Women’s Ministries
Dr. Cynthia Standley has attended New Song since 1999. She formerly served on our leadership board for 14 years. Cynthia has served on our prayer team for over 15 years, is the producer of FX (Family Experience), and performs regularly on our drama team. Her now adult children have grown through our kids and youth ministries, and her husband, Lee, serves on the tech team. Cynthia is a professor at CSUSM and became the Women's Director in March 2022.

Dee Schrey

Administrative Assistant
Dee and her husband became members of New Song Church in 2000. They’ve been volunteers in several ministries and Dee is currently a Bible study leader. She joined the staff in 2019 as lead pastor Dr. Hal Seed's assistant.

Nancy Prato

Front Desk Supervisor
Before coming on staff in 2012 Nancy and her husband Mike served as pastors in the Vineyard movement in Bend, Oregon and Grandview, Washington. She can often be seen at the front desk ministering in prayer and prophetic words to anyone in need.

Debbie Waller

Executive Assistant & Human Resource Director
Debbie and her husband, David, began attending New Song in February of 2016.  That same year, she began serving in PromiseLand 2’s Class as a teacher and room lead.  Debbie came on staff in June 2018 and is Dr. Scott Bayer's Executive Assistant, HR Director, and Life Group Coordinator.  She enjoys spending time with her grandchildren, cooking, scuba diving, and traveling.

Leadership Board

Hal Seed

Chuck Donalson

Michelle Tressler

Pat Kimbrel

Gloria Simon

Rusty Elston

Mark Kuhn